Are you a Saturday morning person?

Friday night, out ’til 3, drinking, dancing, carousing.  Or home, in bed by 10?

Saturday Morning, sleeping off a hangover, groggily sloshing down strong coffee at noon trying to wake up?  Or moving out with the sunrise to visit the local farmer’s market?

I was recently in a conversation where one participant was mentioning all the cool bars in LA, and asking if I’d been to such-and-such, or such-and-such a place.  My answer of course was no, and I wondered if I was missing out on a part of the So-Cal life.  Am I missing something by not wanting to hit the downtown clubs?  Talking this over with my wife, we decided that we are definitely Saturday morning people and not Friday night people. 

Friday night people love the bar scene, hanging out until late and then sleeping away the next day.  We would much rather wake up Saturday morning, sit around reading a good book, or heading out to a farmer’s market or a used book store simply to stroll and brose. 

And so, the name for this blog unveiled itself.  Saturday Morning People is for people who enjoy slower and simpler.  You love the feel of old gilted, leather books.  You feel no rush to find the next, better new thing.  You’re perfectly content right where you are when you are there.  You like farmer’s markets, flea markets, and garage sales.  You like staying in more than going out.  Not a homebody, but more comfortable in your jammies than your faux leather pants. 

Now, ask yourself, are you a Saturday Morning Person?  If so, you’ve stopped at the right webpage. 

Welcome to Saturday Morning People and welcome to my new blog.  This blog has been in the thought process for a while now.  I’ve been checking different blogging sites, exploring ideas and themes and trying to find the time to kick it off right. 

Now is the right time.  This blog is going to be dedicated to the my interest in books and the book reviews I write.  It has surprised me how much I’ve enjoyed writing book reviews and even if no one is reading them at least I’ve had fun, and developed a cheap hobby.  But My wife and I decided that my book reviews have just been getting in the way of our family blog, and we can’t have that.  Our son is just too cute to make him share space with Stephen King or You Have Killed Me.  And so a dedicated book review blog was born. 

I know I’m not original.  There are hundreds of book review blogs out there.  I’ve looked.  But I hope that I will be able to find a way to make my stick out of the crowd, in a good way, of course.  Please help me by being a part of this process.  Leave comments and make suggestions.  I’d even be happy to have you as a guest blogger if you’ve got a good book to share. 

But for now let me leave you with this: What makes you a Saturday Morning Person?

You may leave your comments below.  I look forward to hearing from you.

6 responses to “Are you a Saturday morning person?

  1. What a great idea! This is perfect for you and your many soon-to-be-followers. I look forward to reading all about what you’re reading.

  2. I find it a little ironic that the Friday night before your first post we were out until after 2 am smoking, drinking, and carousing…I’m just saying

  3. What a refreshing move. I love the observation you make about the distinction between Saturday morning and Friday night people. I’m definitely a Saturday morning person though I do tend to have my Friday night outings. I will definitely be following your blog and look forward to reading about whatever insights you have.

  4. What do you hear about The Hunger Games as far as this resurgence of teen fiction goes? There’s been some chatter at BFA, but I haven’t looked into them. In other news, I’m currently reading The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon, and I occasionally think about how much you would probably like it. I can’t remember if you had read it or not…

    • Bo, it is great to see you stopped by! Thanks.

      And yes, I have read The Hunger Games books, all three. I really enjoyed them. They are great stories and told in an amazingly fresh voice. I even wrote a short review of them here.

      As for the Michael Chabon book, no I haven’t read it. I’ve heard lots of good things about it and I have been interested in picking up one of his books. So, I keep your recommendation in mind. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

